Naomh Conail defeated Glenswilly to win the Brian McCormick Division 1 Reserve League title

A Mark Burke goal midway through the first half proved to be the vital scoreline as Naomh Conail beat Glenswilly to win the Division 1 Reserve League final at Fintra.

Naomh Conail 1-8
Glenwilly 0-7

Residents Davy Brennan still controlled the game but they had to resist a late rally from Glenswilly which saw the crossbar deprive Glen’s men of a goal that would have made it much more interesting in the final five minutes.

It was a little slow in the first quarter with Dara Gallagher putting Naomh Conail on the board after three minutes of a free. Seamus Corcoran added another in a minute.

Naomh Conail was down to 14 in 12 minutes when Tony Byrne was blacked out for a late tackle before Gerard Shiels put Glenswilly on the board a minute later. The kick was ruled out by both referees but after a protest from Glenswilly, referee Sean Ward awarded the score.

Dara Gallagher replied with a magnificent 45 and Naomh Conail looked in a strong position when they netted in the 25th minute. A kick from Glenswilly was canceled and Joe Kennedy put Mark Burke to shoot low in the corner.

But credit to Glenswilly they hit the final three scores of the half, Peadar Toner with a free kick and two magnificent runs from half forward Padraig Boyle to leave it 1-3 at 0-4 at the break.

As the rain came, the scores became even less plentiful. Dara Gallagher comforted Naomh Conaill on the scoreboard with two points in the first four minutes of the second half. There were 46 minutes left on the clock before Cathal Gallagher found the range for Glenswilly from a free kick.

Seamus Corcoran responded but Glenswilly came on with a late push. Kealan McFadden kicked in a free kick to cut the lead to three and they had a great chance to even things up when they broke through and Sean Gallagher found himself cleared. He opted to pop the ball but saw it come back from the crossbar. Kealan McFadden was on hand to tap out and leave 1-6 at 0-7.

But it was as good as it gets for Glenswilly as Leo Dunphy, the star of Naomh Conail’s Division 4 Final victory last weekend, fired over two late runs to seal the win.

Naomh Conail scorers: Dara Gallagher 0-4; Mark Burke 1-0; Seamus Corcoran, Leo Dunphy 0-2 apiece.

Glenswilly scorers: Kealan McFadden (1f), Padraig Boyle 0-2 each; Peadar Toner (f), Cathal Gallagher (f), Gerard Shiels 0-1 each.

NAOMH CONAILL: Jordan O’Donnell; Aaron Thompson, Shean Roarty; Aidan Gilroy, Logan Quinn, Joe Shankey Smith; Marty Boyle, Tony Byrne; Seamus Corcoran, Robbie McDonald, Marty Burke; Joe Kennedy, Leo Dunphy, Dara Gallagher.

Replacements: Oran McCallig for Kennedy; Leon Thompson for Corcoran.

GLENSWILLY: Frank Carberry; Eoin Devine, Eamon Ward, Patrick McFadden; Oisin McDaid, Shaun Burke, Sean Gallagher; Padraig Boyle, Gerard Shiels, Enda McDaid; Peadar Toner, Conor McGinty, Cathal Gallagher.

Subs: Leigh Crawford for Callaghan; Ciaran Gibbons for McMonagle; Oisin Crawford for Shiels; Kealan McFadden for Toner; Luke Toye for P Boyle.

REFEREE: John Ward (Dungloe)


Comments are closed.