Longford SFC: Rathcline resists late Clonguish return to triumph in thriller

Rathcline are just one step away from a place in the quarter-finals of the 2022 Senior Football Championship after holding off conquest Clonguish in a thrilling Group 2 clash final at Pairc Chiaran in Newtowncashel on Friday night.

Rathline. . . 4-10 Flashing . . . 2-13

That all changed when Iarla O’Sullivan scored Rathcline’s fourth goal with five minutes of regulation time remaining to put his team ahead by a wide nine-point margin, 4-9 to 0-12.

Lanesboro’s side were down to 14 at this stage after Shane Kenny was shown a black card in the 50th minute, but Clonguish staged a remarkable comeback in the frantic final minutes to close the gap to just two points.

Two goals in quick succession from Jack Duggan (who recorded the most impressive tally of 2-8 on aggregate) sent Rathcline teetering on the ropes and while Chris Gordon then flicked the ball over the bar, the gallant Clonguish was unable to deliver the knockout blow. .

The late and late drama of this incredible game was not yet over as Cian Sutton of Clonguish (straight red card) and Shane Donohoe of Rathcline (second yellow) were sent off in stoppage time before Cronan Flood rushed in to save the insurance point for shannonsiders. .

RATHCLINE: David Mulvihill; Jack Rooney, Jakub Kajan, David Rooney (1-0); Cillian Flood (0-1), Shane Donohoe, James Carroll; Iarla O’Sullivan (1-0), Shane Kenny (1-3, two points clear); Seadna Ryan, Cronan Flood (0-2), Ronan English; Oran Kenny (1-4, one point from free, Bryn Peters, Aaron Kenny.

Under:- Oisin O’Sullivan for R English (injured, 48 min).

CLONG: Mikie McGuinness; Adam Shields, Gerry Moore, Cian Sutton; Niall O’Reilly, Ronan Sweeney, Ryan McHugh (0-1); Peter Hanley, Liam Casey; Chris Gordon (0-2), Jack Duggan (2-8, four points on the franks), Francie Molloy; Matthew Flynn, Joe O’Brien (0-2), Josh Sorohan.

Subtitles: – Conor Shields for P Hanley (injured, half); Darran Quinn and James Galligan for R McHugh and N O’Reilly (both in the 42nd minute); Alan Gregg for J Sorohan (51 mins).

Arbitrator: Brendan Keena (Ballynacargy).


Comments are closed.