Harry Styles and Celeste triumph at Ivor Novello writing awards


LONDON, Sept.21 (Reuters) – Singers Harry Styles, Celeste and Lianne La Havas triumphed at London’s Ivor Novellos on Tuesday, winning awards at the annual awards show honoring songwriters and film composers.

More than half of the winners won their first Ivor at the ceremony, including La Havas which won the award for Best Album for their self-titled album, written with musician and producer Matthew Hales.

Award presenters, The Ivors Academy, described it as “a mind-boggling concept album, its song cycle depicts the stages of a relationship, from the start of romance to its end.”

“I’m really happy, I can’t believe it,” Havas told Reuters.

Celeste and producer Jamie Hartman won the Songwriter of the Year category for a catalog of songs including “Stop this Flame”, “I Can See the Change”, “Little Runaway”, “Love is Back” and “A Little Love “.

“Adore You” won the Most Performed Work award for Styles and fellow writers Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson and Kid Harpoon.

The best song musically and lyrically went to London-based Nigerian musical artist Obongjayar and musician Barney Lister for “God’s Own Children”.

The 66th edition of the awards also saw Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith of Tears for Fears, known for 1980s hits like “Shout” and “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”, recognized in the Outstanding Song Collection category. The duo are expected to release their first album in 17 years in the coming months.

“We have never been able to describe the albums that we have made,” Smith told Reuters.

“All you can say is how we feel right now and what we feel like recording right now. It sounds like a Tears for Fears record.”

Rockers Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora received the Special International Award for Musical Partnership while electronic music duo Goldfrapp took home the Inspiration Award.

Other winners included “Children of the Internet,” which was named best contemporary song. The track, written by rapper Dave and producer Fraser T Smith, discusses the impact of social media.

The awards, named after the early 20th-century Welsh composer, actor and artist, were first awarded in 1956.

Among the celebrities attending the ceremony was ABBA member Bjorn Ulvaeus, who launched the Credits Due campaign to recognize songwriters and composers for their work.

“Credits are so important to creators… that’s how others hear about it,” he told Reuters.

Reporting by Mindy Burrows; Writing by Marie-Louise Gumuchian; edited by Philippa Fletcher

Our standards: Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.