Dempsey and Butler deliver the goods as Buffers Alley comfortably overcomes Cloughbawn

Buffers Alley 0-23 Cloughbawn 0-8

UFFERS ALLEY remained in control as they finally secured a comfortable 15-point victory over a disappointing Cloughbawn side in this Group A match of the TSB Junior ‘A’ Standing Hurling Championship in glorious sunshine at Monamolin on Sunday.

The Alley’s bid for victory was aided by the exploits of two strikers, Owen Dempsey and Michael Butler, as they picked up excellent points from various angles, with the visiting defense unable to match their finishing skills.

As Cloughbawn continued to fight, they lacked the firepower to trouble the home defence, and with their own backs under constant pressure, it was hardly surprising that they suffered such a heavy defeat in the end. .

The Alley took the lead in the opening three minutes thanks to an excellent point from Michael Butler on the wing, while Owen Dempsey followed with two free points to leave them 0-3 to nil after seven minutes.

Cloughbawn responded with points from Thomas Foley and a free Paul Foley, but they still trailed 0-7 to 0-2 at the end of the first quarter as Alley’s dominance looked set to continue.

Dempsey and Butler continued to find the target, while the visitors could only muster a single point through Joey Lawler.

And the result was a foregone conclusion at the break, the eventual winners having built up an eleven-point lead (0-14 to 0-3).

The second half followed much the same pattern as the first as a point from Owen Fortune extended his side’s lead.

After Joey Lawler (free) and Owen Dempsey (’65) traded points, the Alley quickly took full control. Dempsey and Butler fired long-range runs, while two free runs from Paul Foley were all Cloughbawn could muster in response.

The impressive Dempsey showed an excellent scoring range from both play and free, and he continued to score as his team took a 0-19 to 0-6 lead.

Buffer Alley: Cian O’Connor; Conor Kenny, John Donovan, Sean Kirwan; James O’Reilly, Colm Óg Doran, Leonard Leacy; Adam Doyle (0-2), Dylan McEvoy; Oisín Fortune (0-1), Jack Redmond (0-1), Owen Dempsey (0-12, 9 free, 1’65); Michael Butler (0-6), John Furlong, Tomás Whelan (0-1). Under. – Robert Donnelly for Doyle, inj.

Cloughbawn: Josh Buckley; Ryan Murphy, Tomas Furlong, Liam Kehoe; Nathan McDonald, Mikey Fleming, Cathal Spratt; David Murphy, David Doyle-Murphy; Thomas Foley (0-1), Luke Cummins, James Flood; Joe Harrington, Paul Foley (0-5, 4 free), Joey Lawler (0-2, 1 free). Subs. – Stevie Casserly for Lawler, Aaron Byrne for T. Foley, Garreth Murphy for Harrington, Aaron McManus for Flood.

Arbitrator: Aidan Foley (Shelmaliers).

Comments are closed.